Why see it?
Continuing from the Medieval Palace and South Wall Walk, you can explore the massive defensive inner curtain wall and the four towers: the Salt, the Broad Arrow, the Constable and the Martin Tower. Discover the many different uses of the Tower of London – Prison, home of the Crown Jewels and, above all else, Fortress.
This huge stone encirclement, defended by eight mural towers, was part of Henry III’s refortification of the castle in the mid-13th century.
East Wall Walk highlights...
The Salt Tower
Meet the ghosts of prisoners held here and see their graffiti on the walls.
This tower originally overlooked the Thames and in times of trouble, archers on the ground floor were able to protect it by shooting through the five arrow loops. During peaceful times the room was a storehouse.
From the Salt Tower, the Wall Walk continues to the Broad Arrow...
The Broad Arrow Tower
This tower is named after the ‘broad arrow’ symbol, which was stamped on goods to demonstrate royal ownership.
From the 14th century, the Broad Arrow Tower was connected to the government department responsible for royal supplies – the Wardrobe.
Today, the Broad Arrow Tower has been re-presented as a guard tower, its original use.
In a new interactive exhibition, wield a crossbow and find out how the medieval garrison would have defended this section of the inner curtain wall.
In case of attack, assemble on the fighting platform. This new addition to the East Wall Walk recreates the atmosphere of a fortress in operation. Hear the sounds of the garrison at peace and at war, under cover of a wooden roof that would have protected them as they counter attacked.
The Constable Tower
The 19th century Constable Tower is built on the site of one of Henry’s III’s mural towers.
Security breached! Tower raided! A new exhibition helps visitors explore the remarkable story of the only time the defences of the fortress were ever breached in the Peasants’ Revolt of 1381. Find out what happened when the peasants broke in, and how the episode came to a bloody conclusion.
The Martin Tower
This part of the tower has strong links with the Crown Jewels. These days the jewels are kept in the Waterloo Barracks, but from 1669 until 1841, they were kept in the Martin Tower. Its brick exterior is a unique reminder of the fortress’s appearance before the restoration of the 19th century.
Today, this tower houses the Crowns and Diamonds exhibition which tells the story of the English royal crowns, and some of their most famous stones.
After leaving the Martin Tower...
You can visit the ground floor of the Bowyer Tower on the adjacent North Wall Walk. It is one of the few surviving medieval interiors in the mostly 19th century northern inner curtain wall.