Trustees and Directors

Trustees and Directors

A Crocus

Historic Royal Palaces is governed by a Board of Trustees.

The Board consists of a Chairman and 11 Trustees, chosen for their skills and experience. All are non-executive and unpaid.


The Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport wishes to appoint a Trustee with knowledge of education, outreach and public engagement to the Board of Historic Royal Palaces. The successful candidate will contribute to the governance of the charity and the delivery of its objectives.

For more information please see the documents below and the DCMS website, through which applications can be made.

Trustee Role Profile (PDF, 49KB)

Trustee Information (PDF, 4.1MB)

Visit the DCMS website to apply >

Our structure

The Chairman is appointed by The Queen on the advice of the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport.

Four Trustees are appointed by The Queen and three are ex officio appointments: The Director of the Royal Collection; The Keeper of the Privy Purse; and The Lord Chamberlain. The Lord Chamberlain may choose to relinquish his appointment in which case, The Queen may also appoint someone to take his place.

The remaining seven are appointed by the Secretary of State. Two are ex officio appointments; The Constable of the Tower of London and The Chairman of Historic Royal Palaces' Campaign Board.

The appointments are part-time and unpaid. Trustees who are not 'ex officio' are appointed for three years. Trustees are carefully selected for their skills and experience to support Historic Royal Palaces’ work.

The Chief Executive, Michael Day, is accountable to the Board of Trustees for the performance of Historic Royal Palaces and ultimately to Parliament for the public assets in our care. He chairs an Executive Board of eight directors.

Board of Trustees and Executive Board

Current trustees

  • Rupert Gavin (Chairman)
  • Zeinab Badawi
  • Professor Sir David Cannadine
  • Bruce Carnegie-Brown
  • Ajay Chowdhury
  • Liz Cleaver
  • General Sir Nicholas Houghton GCB CBE ADC Gen
  • Jane Kennedy
  • Jonathan Marsden CVO FSA
  • Carole Souter CBE
  • Sir Michael Stevens KCVO
  • M Louise Wilson

Read our Trustees Biographies

Current executive board

For more information
Email: Head of Governance

You may also be interested in...