Explore the ceremonial heart of Hillsborough Castle and Gardens
The magnificent Throne Room was built as an extension in 1797. It was originally three rooms, which were combined to create a grand Saloon in the 1840s.
Her Majesty The Queen received guests at a ball to celebrate her coronation here in 1953.
Still the grandest room in the house, the Throne Room is now decorated with green silk damask fabric and used for investitures, citizenship ceremonies, weddings and an annual concert given by The Prince of Wales.
The 'thrones' in this room are actually Chairs of State, which represent the monarch in absence. Officially, only the Governor and his wife were allowed to sit on them.
Local embroiderers started the Coat of Arms at the end of the Throne Room for George V. However, it took such a long time to make that his son Edward VIII had come to the throne by the time it was ready!
After Edward’s abdication in December 1936, the Coat of Arms was packed away. It was then displayed 17 years later for Her Majesty The Queen.
Prince James was the only son of the Catholic King James II of England and VII of Scotland.
Exiled to Rome with his family after the Glorious revolution of 1688, James was sometimes referred to by supporters as ‘the king over the water’ and nicknamed 'The Old Pretender'. He viewed himself as the Jacobite King James III.
There are two paintings of James in the Throne Room: the earliest is attributed to French portraitist François de Troy and dates from around 1700-1704.
This portrait was painted while James was in exile in France and shows him gesturing towards a group of ships at sea – thought to be a symbol of his intent to cross the channel and claim the throne.
The later painting dates from around 1900-27 and is twentieth-century copy after Antonio David. It depicts James as the Jacobite 'James III'; he wears the blue sash of the Order of the Garter and the green Order of the Thistle. This portrait was purchased by George V in 1927.
Jean Baptiste Martin was a French artist whose work was popular with French royalty, in particular Louis XIV.
The collection in the Throne Room features two of Jean Baptiste Martin's paintings, called A Stag Hunt at Versailles and A Hawking Party at Marly. They portray the Duke and Duchess of Burgundy in the midst of hunting.
The paintings were purchased by George IV and are now part of the Royal Collection.
The Throne Room is one of the newly re-presented State Rooms that you can explore on your visit to Hillsborough Castle and Gardens.
Watch as our team of experts restore the room to its former glory in this short film.
The most intimate of our six royal palaces, Kew was built as a private house in 1631 and used by the royal family between 1729 and 1818. These gifts and souvenirs are all inspired by Kew Palace.
Inspired by the Great Pagoda at Kew Gardens, this exquisite silver stacking ring features an intricate octagonal oriental design with accents of rare welsh gold.