All about the Tudors

Who were the Tudors?

The Tudors were the ruling family in England between 1485 and 1603. They were:

• Henry VII (1485-1509)
• Henry VIII (1509-1547)
• Edward VI (1547-1553)
• Lady Jane Grey (for nine days in 1553)
• Mary I (1553-1558)
• Elizabeth I (1558-1603)

They were called the Tudors because Henry VII was otherwise known as Henry Tudor. Henry Tudor became Henry VII when he won the throne from King Richard III at the Battle of Bosworth in 1485.

Henry VIII was Henry VII’s second son and he became king because his older brother, Arthur, died when he was only 15.

Edward VI was Henry VIII’s only male heir. However, he was young and in very bad health and died when he was 15 years old. He named Lady Jane Grey as his successor but she was queen for only 9 days.

Mary I was the only child of Henry VIII and his first wife, Katherine of Aragon. She was married to Prince Philip of Spain but she didn’t produce an heir so her half-sister, Elizabeth became queen when she died.

Elizabeth I didn’t marry and was queen by herself which was unusual for the time She also didn’t have any children so when she died in 1603, the Tudor dynasty came to an end.

Why are the Tudors famous?

They are famous for lots of things including Henry VIII and his six wives, new religious ideas and exploring different countries.


Joust for Henry VIII

Joust for Henry

Have you got what it takes to be the King’s champion?

Joust for Henry >
The Gruesome Ailments of Henry VIII

Gruesome Ailments of Henry VIII

From the London Activity Book, available in all our gift shops.

Gruesome Ailments of Henry VIII >