You are at the top of the page

Skip to content or footer

Start of main content

Trustees and Directors

The governance of Historic Royal Palaces

The governance of Historic Royal Palaces


Historic Royal Palaces is governed by a Board of Trustees, all of whom are non-executive.

Our Trustees promote Historic Royal Palaces’ Cause in the world. They act in the organisation's best interests, ensuring high standards in all the work we do, and that we use our money and resources as effectively as possible.

The Chief Executive is accountable to the Board of Trustees. He chairs an Executive Team of Directors.


The Board

The Board of Trustees consists of a Chair and 10 Trustees. The appointments are unpaid and Trustees are carefully selected for ability to support Historic Royal Palaces’ work.

Appointments by The King

The Chair is appointed by The King on the advice of the Secretary of State for Culture, Media & Sport.

Four Trustees are appointed by The King, of which three are 'ex officio' appointments:

  • Director, Royal Collection Trust
  • The Keeper of the Privy Purse
  • The Lord Chamberlain

The Lord Chamberlain may choose to relinquish his appointment, in which case The King may appoint someone to take his place.

Appointments by the Secretary of State

The remaining seven Trustees are appointed by the Secretary of State, of which two are 'ex officio' appointments:

  • The Constable of the Tower of London
  • The Chair of Historic Royal Palaces' Campaign Board.


The Executive Team

The Chief Executive, John Barnes, is accountable to the Board of Trustees for the performance of Historic Royal Palaces and ultimately to Parliament for the public assets in our care. He chairs an Executive Team of Directors.


Read our Directors' biographies